MountainStar Bend
MountainStar Bend
2125 NE Daggett Lane
Bend, OR 97701
MountainStar Madras
MountainStar Madras
122 NE 10th Street
Madras, OR 97741
MountainStar Prineville
MountainStar Prineville
430 NW 4th Street
Prineville, OR 97754
MountainStar LaPine
MountainStar LaPine
PO Box 3291
La Pine, OR 97739
MountainStar Redmond
MountainStar Redmond
2724 SW Timber Ave.
Redmond, OR 97756

About Us

Board of Directors

Members of our different boards represent a cross-section of our community and have a passion for our mission and those we serve. Each individual strives to ensure the long-term sustainability of the organization through good governance and responsible fundraising and spending practices. To learn more, visit our financials and governance page.

MountainStar's Board of Directors

Jessica Sayers - President
Jessica Sayers joined MountainStar’s board in February 2017 and has been a supporter of MountainStar’s mission for many years prior to joining the board. “The services that MountainStar provides to our community, children, and families are critical. The outcomes of this critical work has shown that MountainStar’s program is effective and necessary to support our families. I am thrilled and honored to be part of this organization,” says Jessica. She works at PacificSource Health Plans as the Medicaid Contract Manager, managing the contracts and relationship with the Oregon Health Authority, and has been in the health care industry for over 18 years. She received her Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration from Oregon State University. Jessica is married and has two children, a daughter, and a son, and has lived in Bend since 2002.

Emi Cornelius - Vice President
Emi Cornelius is a technologist helping solopreneurs and small businesses maximize technology to meet their business needs. Even so, she believes that direct connection is more important than ever. She joined the MountainStar board in March of 2018. She has a huge passion for the MountainStar mission and the population we serve. Emi shares, "Focusing on keeping families whole and healthy, helping prevent abuse and neglect, and supporting families into better circumstances is so important to me and our community." 

Deb Schoen - Treasurer
Deb Schoen is a retired park and recreation professional and has deep experience with children and family programs, community leadership, financial oversight, and policy development.  She is a strong advocate for community engagement and equitable access for all community members.  She remains involved with the National Recreation and Park Association as an accreditation officer. Deb believes, "Organized efforts aimed at influencing public attitudes, policies, early intervention, and support of vulnerable families will allow children to grow into healthy, contributing members of society." Deb moved to Bend in 2013 with her husband to enjoy the beauty, sunshine, and outdoor life that Central Oregon has to offer.  Her daughter’s family recently moved to Bend, enabling her to spend time with her two grandchildren.

Robin Bailey 
Robin Bailey attained a degree in Education from the University of Oregon, with a focus on Family and Community Services. She has been a long-time advocate for Relief Nursery Programs in Oregon as a volunteer, committee member, and board member. Robin believes children to be our most valuable asset, but sadly they are the most vulnerable too: "Our job as community members is to advocate for these children and be their voice when they don't have one of their own". Robin has lived in Bend for 17 years with her husband Troy and three very active, teenage sons. Outside of spending time with her friends and family, Robin enjoys baking, traveling, hiking, and relaxing outdoors.

Annemarie Hamlin, Ph.D.
Annemarie Hamlin is an educator with 26 years of teaching (writing and literature) and two years of administration in colleges and universities in California and Oregon. In her current role as an instructional dean at Central Oregon Community College, she oversees humanities, arts, and social science disciplines. “Having worked all my life at the later end of the educational spectrum, I am excited about working with an organization that focuses on the earliest years, helping children and families get set up for success in their learning and growing journeys.” She was drawn to MountainStar for its focus on preventing abuse and developing the whole family to maximize the learning potential of our youngest community members. She and her partner have two adult daughters.

Mary Jensen
Mary Jensen has served on MountainStar's board since 2017 and recently confirmed another three years of service: “I am so pleased to have been associated with MountainStar for these last three years. The work MountainStar does is so important in our community – giving families the skills and support they need to keep their infants and toddlers safe from abuse and neglect. The staff continues to amaze me with their commitment, creativity, and compassion. The programs and tools they use produce very positive results." Mary and her husband Erik have lived in Bend for 11 years. She is retired, ending her career as a Transit Manager with King County Metro in Seattle. She has an undergraduate degree in Economics and a Masters degree in City and Regional Planning. Mary especially enjoys time with her family including two grandchildren. She also enjoys golfing, hiking, birding, and fishing. When times permit she and Erik also enjoy traveling. 

Jennifer Mitchell, MD
Jennifer Mitchell moved to Bend in 2015 and works as a family doctor. Her family loves Bend and dreamed of living here for a long time. Jennifer started looking for a way to give back to her new community. In a medical lecture, she learned about the importance of the first 1000 days of a child's life -- how a healthy attachment formed during that time is so vital to creating healthy and resilient humans.  Jennifer was thrilled to discover that MountainStar directly addressing that very issue in Central Oregon. She started volunteering for MountainStar in 2019 and joined the board in the summer of 2020. She said, "The work MountainStar does with vulnerable children and families and the results that they have achieved in prevention make me so proud to support this organization."

Margaret Schaus
Bio Coming Soon


Lynn Spinoglio
Bio Coming Soon



Our Advisory Board Members are passionate and experienced community members who help coordinate the programs in Crook and Jefferson counties. They work hard to ensure the success of MountainStar throughout Central Oregon. Their service is invaluable and integral to MountainStar's success.


MountainStar Madras' Advisory Board
*This group is also known as Juniper Junction Community Council
Tena Jackson, President
Stephen Hillis, Treasurer
Roy Jackson, Secretary
Jane Ahern
Beth Ann Beamer
Bud Beamer
Glenda Cloud
Susan Matheny
Kristin Peterson

MountainStar Prineville's Advisory Board

Ruth Brumagin
Kathleen Wilson, Secretary
Robert Haden
Kandy Marling
Janette Wisseman 

Each of our boards are open to new member applications. If you would like to learn about being a member, please contact Development Director Staley Micken at or 541-322-6820.